Should You Get Rid of Your Old Tattoos?

My son keeps staring at the faded, badly rendered tattoos I got when I was in my teenage years, asking me why daddy has funny drawings on his skin. Maybe it’s time to get rid of them for good?

Nicholas H. Simpson
4 min readFeb 20, 2022
Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

The tattoos I have were a product of teenage rebellion and aren’t something I give much thought to these days. I don’t look in the mirror much and months have gone by without me even noticing they’re there. It wasn’t until my two-year-old son clambered over me last week and paused to prod the fading ink on my ankle that I remembered I had them.

Teenage Rebellion

Photo by Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

I admit I was a difficult teen. My parents were patient with me but must have been forever despairing at the weird body modifications I routinely came home from university proudly and loudly parading. First there was the lip piercing. Then, when they didn’t balk sufficiently at that, I stepped it up a notch to the septum. The bull’s nose vibe finally caused my dad to look slightly askance at me on the car ride home from the train station at the beginning of Summer break one…

--

--

Nicholas H. Simpson

PhD candidate, language geek living and working in South Korea. All about UK culture, Korean life, cross-cultural differences and English language.